• Komal

Mother Nature & your Body

So, what is human body made of?

What comes to your mind when you think of your body? Is it just a holder of flesh, bones and blood? The physical body you see on the outside is merely one aspect of you. Our body is a conglomerate of a myriad of elements that work together to make it what it is. Not all of those elements are physical, but they all are perceptible.

We can touch and feel various body parts. We can examine and hold all the physical elements. But, beyond the physical, there are other forces in play. For example, we can't touch or hold our thoughts, but they can make us feel a certain way, they can have a positive or a negative impact on our physical health. We can't even touch our own breath which is the very basis of our existence.

The subtler elements require greater sensitivity of the consciousness. Your physical health is almost entirely dependent on how your body accepts and processes food, which, in turn, is affected by your mental and emotional state. A body is not just a mechanical machine, for, if it was, all stomachs will process food exactly the same way in all individuals.

The truth is everyone's body is unique. Even if two people eat identical meals, their bodies respond to it differently.

What is that factor, that element, that thing in their body that determines how the body is going to process food?

As remembered Einstein words , "It's not that I'm smarter, it's just that I stay with problems longer."

Yogis too in the ancient India gained remarkable insights into the nature of human existence based on the same principle — they meditated on it for long periods.

Gradually, it evolved and it improved leading to a concrete system, complete with an underlying theory and a set of practices, most of which are scientifically verifiable even today.

They divided the primary aspects of our wellness into physical and mental. Ayurveda covered the physical aspects and yogic scriptures expounded on the mental aspects.

The four key Ayurvedic concepts are:

The five elements (pancha-bhoota),

Seven tissues (sapta-dhatu),

Three humors (tri-dosha) and

Four fires (chatush-agni).

The four important Yogic ones are:

The five sheaths (pancha-kosha),

Three mental states (tri-guna),

Three bodies (tri-kaya) and

Ten energies (dasa-vayu).


© 2019 by Penahki ayurveda.  All rights reserved Penahki Ayurveda LLC+  Disclaimer: The sole purpose of the all website content is to provide information about the tradition of Ayurveda and not intended for use in the diagnosis, treatment, cure or prevention of any disease.